First post

I recently read the article “How writing a science blog save my PhD” in which they suggested to start writing a blog if pursuing a science career. And I thought it was a good idea. Why not writing a blog, stating your thought, describing your recent project, your research and then you can re-read it 5 or 10 years later to see how naive you once be. That sounds very interesting. In addition, it’s a good way to improve my writing skill. So let’s start from now.

In my very first post, I just want to make a plan for the 1st round interview of VEFSTA Fellowship and also for the 2nd time of my GRE exam T.T. I have about 1 and a half month for the interview and  2-3 months for the GRE.

Must-do list  well prepare for the interview:

  • Review all subject in undergraduate years: Recall all important definitions, notions, equations,…
  • Review my research + all preferences
  • Study CFD more: read the book “Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics” of M.Peric
  • Answer to a list of questions that are likely to appear in the interview (link needed)
  • Read some books maybe?
  • Something I don’t remember (Will add later)

About the GRE: I aim to some top 10 universities: Berkeley, Cornell, Penn State, Gatech, … Their requirements on GRE, especially the Verbal Section is too damn high (over 160, maximum is 170). Unfortunately, I recently got 143 lmao. So the only way I have a chance to be admitted is improving my fking score. But how?

Just found this on Magoosh: 90 day GRE study plan (verbal focused). Based on this plan, I should spend 2-3 hours per day and 4-5 hours in weekend. It sounds ok to me. Each day I have around 9 hours of free time. So let’s make a schedule right now:

Morning: wake up at 8. start working on GRE from 9 am to 11 am.

Afternoon: take a nap from 1 to 3pm. Start reading books, review things from 3 to 6 pm

Evening: Writing, Speaking, or watching movie… from 9 to 12 pm. Go to sleep at 2 am

In the beginning, my performance could be really low. But I will try to improve it day by day.

Hopefully I will archive something in late August.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

